Skip to content

This

June 12, 2011

http://www.raptitude.com/2011/04/the-thing-that-makes-this-all-happen/

I read this a while ago and at the time shared it with my favourite people. Anyway I just read it again and it’s just such a delight.

Thought I’d try expose even just one people to its goodness

Actually, take a look at the whole site. Almost everything he writes is golden, it’s very easy to see why he has 90,000 readers every month.

You know how there are some people you just meet and you think oh yeah, I’d get along with them? I feel like he’d be a friend. Haha I really want to be better friends with one of my lab partners. There’s a closer to home example.

I have two cups of coffee, one each side of my laptop. Sentry! (I’m surprised I spelt that write, I checked it with googlebot). I watched Earthlings for the first time about two years ago and it is some sort of magnificent. Although it is totally pushing the vegetarian/veganism agenda with a vengeance, after watching some of the horrific treatment of animals that goes down in the world, all instigated by humans- the so-called intelligent species- you can see why they push it so hard. I don’t recommend watching it if you enjoy your meat and you have even a little tiny sprinkling of empathy. You won’t look back after this. Anyway the reason I mention it is because a few days ago, when I was going through some emotional trauma (histrionic description? Nonetheless that’s how I felt) I watched it again. Now, this was probably a very foolish time to rewatch a documentary such as this because my mind was just pleading for some (any) cause to parasitically latch onto.

So the first time I watched Earthlings, I became vegetarian.

This time, I decided veganism is the way to go.

Not a particularly large step for me because I didn’t drink cow milk or eat very much dairy as it was (not specifically for humane reasons, I just genuinely don’t like it). So it was mainly cutting out products that had animal products in them. First I had to find out which food additives weren’t vegetarian because it’s just not something you can just know without reading about it. Then it was just practising being a label sleuth. I’m pretty well-versed in decoding labels already as a result of being diabetic (type 1 if you’re a first time reader) so it didn’t seem like too much of a daunting task.

Basically, I was just trying it out. Didn’t go around proclaiming look at ME, I’m a VEGAN, give me MEGA-KUDOS! However, I can see why people feel strongly enough to do this as for a lot of people dairy is a very large thing to give up for a (not entirely) altruistic cause. I did it full throttle for a week and lost about a kilogram (with no switch up of my normal exercise) and I just felt … better.

I’ve read of other people who’ve done the same and now I can agree with their reports. You DO feel better. My skin cleared up, not overnight, we’re not talking miracles here, but considerably over a short period of time. I felt more clear headed, although that could be attributed to the fact that during this time I got my emotions all mainly sorted and yeah I just had more energy.

I don’t know what view I’m trying to prolificate here, maybe just have a think about a little trial conversion to a vege-box, see how it makes you feel, see how easy/hard it is.

And don’t watch Earthlings if you want to continue eating meat without a care.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

